IT BLOCK Review: Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

Updated: May 14

The new Huawei Y6 Pro 2019 is really great value for an android phone. Let's check out some of its features.

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

So what is the big deal about this phone? Especially here in Singapore where we have people are fainting and all. Simple, it costs 54 Singapore dollars. Or at least it did, or we don’t know what happened. We think they ran out of stock and a lot of older adults complained and fainted. The police called into the store, and it was a huge mess.

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

First, let's see what we have here:


  • 6.09” Dewdrop HD+ display.

  • 8MP front-facing camera + 13MP f/1.8 rear camera.

  • 32GB internal storage with 3GB RAM.

  • 3020mAh battery.

  • Android™ 9.0 Pie.

  • Built-in FM Radio.


It seems like an older adult’s phone. We are joking; sometimes we use FM radio too. No, we don’t. So this phone initially retails at 198 SGD, which is still quite a steal for a phone. I mean, with any phone plan we are entirely sure this phone is free.

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

Chinese language & characters

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019


One of the reasons we believe why so many elderly are interested in the phone is the source itself. Huawei is, after all, a Chinese brand and unlike their competition, we are sure the Chinese language user interface would be second to none here. So it is safe to assume many traditional character readers drawn to the technology that would make it very easy for them to use since an iPhone nor Samsung not explicitly designed around the Chinese language.

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

Super bass

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019


So since this phone has an FM radio inside it. It can also act as one of that portable radio. Means more of those aunties and uncles riding around with their bicycles and their favourite Chinese classic radio station blasted on full volume for the public’s listening pleasure. I mean 6 decibels of bass from such a tiny, tiny device is terrific technology. Good job.

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

Low-light face unlock

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019


Okay, let’s be a little racist here. You know if Huawei designs a face recognition unlocking software, it is going to be able to tell two Chinese faces apart right? Unlike the you-know-who competition that is unable to do so. So from a security standpoint, this is a no competition scenario. You don’t want some doppelganger opening and unlocking your phone with all of your impressive failed selfie collection at their fingertips. These days, you can blackmail some people with that kind of information.

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019

EMIU 9.0 with Android PIE

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019


Oreo was so last year. And as of late last year, PIE is the new in thing when it comes to Android.


We are not sure how EMIU or encrypted mobile user identity plays into this, but it has something to do with recognising the way you interact with the operating system or interface and behave more intuitively by how you use it, which is pretty cool. Be prepared for a lot of gesture control stuff too as per usual.

Battery life

Huawei Y6 Pro 2019


3020 mAh is a very decent amount of battery, considering the price. That is even more than an iPhone XR has. And with the more efficient Android PIE interface, we should expect a much longer battery life with this phone as long as appropriately optimised. And brightness is set to a minimum.


Other than these things we have highlighted, the camera is more or less average. Better than most phones but not the best. But as a budget phone, this is one of the best we have ever seen. One would wonder how they would ever make money selling these at 54 dollars a pop. We don’t think this is a young person’s phone, but we do think it is a perfect phone for the older generation here in Singapore.


Good job, Huawei, we love it.



Thank you for reading 'IT BLOCK Review: Huawei Y6 Pro 2019' and have a beautiful day ahead. #review #huawei #y6pro #2019

IT Support Knowledge

Singapore IT Company